General Question

sweetsweetstephy's avatar

Are eggs considered meat? What about blood sausage?

Asked by sweetsweetstephy (338 points ) August 22nd, 2012

Eggs are the cell of a chicken. Blood sausage is made from coagulated blood. Are these, by extension considered meat? For all purposes, let’s say that this is in regards to a vegetarian diet.

Observing members: 0 Composing members: 0

21 Answers

digitalimpression's avatar

I thought it was universal to veggie-sauruses that eggs were considered meat.. but then I’ve seen a lot of vegetarians who make exceptions because they like certain foods.

Blood sausage is not food. Gross. On a technical level, I have no idea.

the100thmonkey's avatar

Well, generally, I would say that black pudding (blood sausage) would be considered meat by a vegetarian because its production involves the slaughter of an animal (providing the vegetarian is so for ethical reasons).

Eggs would be OK, I think, as they are unfertilised and not, therefore, a living organism. I’ve known vegetarians who eat them. A vegan, on the other hand, would eschew them as they would avoid eating any animal product.

Haleth's avatar

@the100thmonkey Exactly.

Vegetarians who eat meat and eggs are called “lacto-ovo” vegetarians. Their diet has animal products that you can harvest without killing an animal. Vegans don’t eat any animal products at all.

The only way to get blood sausage is by killing an animal, so that’s not a vegetarian food.

JLeslie's avatar

It depends.

In America eggs are housed in the “dairy section” in super markets. I don’t think anyone considers it a dairy product though.

As @Haleth said, vegans don’t eat eggs, but ovo vegetarians or lacto-ovo vegetarians eat eggs.

In Judaism eggs are Pareve, meaning they are neutral, and they can be eaten with milk or meat.

zenvelo's avatar

Vegans don’t consume anything that comes from an animal, including honey. Many vegetarians have no concern eating something produced by an animal, as long as the animal is not harmed.

Kayak8's avatar

@Haleth I thought vegetarians who ate meat were not vegetarians and vegetarians who allows eggs (ovo) and dairy (lacto) in their diets were ovo-lacto vegetarians . . .

JLeslie's avatar

@Kayak8 I think @Haleth meant milk and eggs not meat and eggs.

dabbler's avatar

@Kayak8 That is correct. Anyone eating meat is simply not a vegetarian. If @Haleth meant dairy (milk, cheese) and eggs then “Vegetarians who eat dairy and eggs are called ‘lacto-ovo’ vegetarians” would have been correct.

bookish1's avatar

Depends whose advice you’re seeking… If you ask a Brahmin vegetarian, hell no, eggs are out of the question. But I know a great many Western vegetarians who eat eggs. They are indeed the cells of a chicken, but they are not fertilized (one hopes before cracking them!)

I’m a fallen Brahmin and I eat eggs. However, I try to avoid eating them when I’m out of the house because of ******* industrial factory farming.

fremen_warrior's avatar

Regular vegetarian here – apart from factory farming eggs are not hurting the animals directly so they’re ok in my book from time to time. Blood is blood – you can’t get it without hurting something, so it’s out.

@the100thmonkey lacto ovo means they consume dairy and eggs – any vegetarian eating meat and/or fish – because for some reason people think fish are vegetables or something – is (don’t laugh) a poseur!

Linda_Owl's avatar

Eggs are a protein source, but so is peanut butter – and I would say they are not meat.

Haleth's avatar

@dabbler @JLeslie That’s what I get for not proofreading. “Milk and eggs” is what I was trying to type, but I had a duh moment.

JLeslie's avatar

@Haleth Not to worry, I write in the language of duh also. :)

Kardamom's avatar

Haven’t read anyone else’s answers yet. I will after I post.

I’ve been a vegetarian for over 25 years, and I eat some eggs and dairy and some cheeses (that don’t contain animal rennet). I would not eat blood sausage. I also don’t eat jello. For me, it is the killing of animals that makes it wrong for me to eat meat. I’m also very aware of cruelty to animals (short of killing) and try to find dairy and egg products from more humanely treated animals.

Most vegans shun any type of animal products including eggs and dairy. Some even avoid honey and sugar.

I also don’t purchase leather products, although I can’t avoid using leather altogether, because sometimes I go somewhere where the chairs or carseats are made from leather. But I would never buy leather clothing, or chairs, personally.

Kardamom's avatar

Some, but not all cane sugar can be processed using bone char. With white cane sugar and brown cane sugar (which is actually white sugar with molasses or caramel coloring added) it’s hard to know for certain whether it has been refined with bone char.

Beet sugar, which for all intents and purposes looks and tastes exactly like cane sugar (and most likely isn’t marked on the bag of sugar as to whether it’s cane or beet derived) does not use bone char as part of the processing. You can read about that Here

Also some alcoholic beverages are prepared using isinglass (a type of gelatin made from the swim bladders of a particular type of fish) You can read about that, and other sneaky non-vegan or non-vegetarian items that end up in your cocktails Here

Please do not pass the Cochineal or Carmine

Most of you probably already know about Jello, Marshmallows and Gummy Bears

Sometimes there’s even gelatin in yogurt products and some candies. You just have to read labels like a fiend.

dabbler's avatar

@Kardamom I did not know that about sugar ! Very informative, thank you.

bookish1's avatar

@Kardamom: I forgot about Red 40… Ugh. Thanks to you, I passed up on “vegetarian” bacon bits at the grocery store yesterday! It was hard though…

Kardamom's avatar

@bookish1 I found some other vegetarian bacon bits that don’t seem to have any offending ingredients. Such as these Bac’uns

There were a couple of others that only listed “coloring” and didn’t specify where the coloring came from.

But one of my favorite fake bacon strips is Lightlife Smart Bacon which you can cook up in a frying pan, just like real bacon, then chop it up and throw it in your freezer and pull out a pinch whenever you need some bits. This one doesn’t have any nasty colorings.

bookish1's avatar

@Kardamom, thank you very much! I’ll have to hunt for those. I’m always skeptical of unspecified flavorings and colorings, too… And I am a big fan of morningstar farm bacon. It’s bordering on an addiction. :-p I don’t keep any in the house because otherwise I’ll eat it all up in a single day!

Kardamom's avatar

@bookish1, I love MSF’s products too. I didn’t list those, because the ingredients in their fake bacon did list Red #3, which you said you were trying to avoid. You can see the ingredients list Here

Answer this question

Login

or

Join

to answer.

This question is in the General Section. Responses must be helpful and on-topic.

Your answer will be saved while you login or join.

Have a question? Ask Fluther!

What do you know more about?
or
Knowledge Networking @ Fluther