General Question

poiuyt's avatar

Books like the movie "O brother, where art thou" ?

Asked by poiuyt (12 points ) October 22nd, 2012

I like the movie “O brother, where art thou”, I also read “The Sisters brothers and enjoyed it too.
Can some one suggest books like that…
historical fiction, humor, dimwit characters, road, adventure.

Observing members: 0 Composing members: 0

7 Answers

phaedryx's avatar

Homer’s Odyssey?

El_Cadejo's avatar

@phaedryx nailed it. O Brother Where Art Thou was basically a modern retelling of The Odyssey. I also found that having read The Odyssey before, I enjoyed O Brother Where Art Thou a lot more because I got all the references.

Nullo's avatar

@uberbatman If Ulysses found a cow on the roof of a cotton house, I will eat my hat. :P

poiuyt's avatar

Oh, any other books other than Odyssey.

janbb's avatar

This is a movie; but the Preston Sturges comedy “Sullivan’s Way” is a road movie in which a film called “O Brother, Where art Thou?” is being made. You might also like the film, “It Happened One Night.” “Grand Illusion” is another wonderful road movie. Oh – and one of my favorites, “The Man Who Would be King” with Sean Connery and Michael Caine. And “The African Queen.”

In books, you might try “Don Quixote,” “Nicholas Nickleby,” “Catch-22” or “The World According to Garp.”

filmfann's avatar

Life With Woodpecker by Tom Robbins
Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas by Hunter S. Thompson

Haleth's avatar

Try the remake of “True Grit?” It’s also a Coen Brothers movie about odd characters on a journey. The tone is totally different; in O Brother, everything was a lot more slapstick-funny and it had an awesome soundtrack, so it’s almost like watching an old-timey musical. True Grit is more of a straight-up western, but with funny, clever dialogue.

“Two Mules for Sister Sara” also has a nice combination of adventure and humor. Clint Eastwood is… Clint Eastwood, and Shirley Maclaine is a potty-mouthed nun, and they go on an adventure together.

This is a different genre and the tone is a bit more laid-back, but the anime Samurai Champloo is actually a really good fit. It’s about three mismatched characters who go on a journey across 1800s Japan… sort of. There are tons of anachronisms, quirky, modern-day humor, and a great laid-back hip-hop soundtrack. The storytelling and character build are awesome, but it’s also a lot of fun.

Answer this question

Login

or

Join

to answer.

This question is in the General Section. Responses must be helpful and on-topic.

Your answer will be saved while you login or join.

Have a question? Ask Fluther!

What do you know more about?
or
Knowledge Networking @ Fluther