• This question is currently being edited.

General Question

What work can I do in Indonesia?

Asked by millfletcher (4 points ) 3 months ago

By the end of this year, more likely in October, we will be in Indonesia. My husband has a job offer in Jakarta and his offer comes with bringing his family there to live with him. Of course, that would be the best for everyone but the problem is that would mean i had to stop working. It is actually fine with me but I do not want to be a plain housewife, I want to continue working there.

I am a nurse, based on what I heard, nurses are not so in demand in the country. I am willing to do just anything possible. What work can I do there? I already checked on http://www.axishcl.com/?ui=jobs but nothing seems to be working.

Observing members: 0 Composing members: 0

4 Answers

I will ask a friend of mine who is from Jakarta. I’m sure a nurse’s skills would be well utilised with an NGO and there are many there. You know if you will have a work Visa? Also, it is a cheap place to live. Consider using your skills to volunteer.

Apply as a nurse, America hires on foreign professionals all the time.

Teach! Good teachers who have a background with advanced education are always in demand.

Welcome to Fluther.

While basic nursing is not in short supply in Indonesia, “Western medicine” and especially Western standards of hygiene are always in demand. People in East Asia as a general rule – I don’t want to stereotype here, but I do want to give you an example of prevailing culture – are very agreeable to the things you say and request, but execution is another story entirely.

So, as a patient you tell your doctor “I want you to assure me that your practice standards meet with AMA standards for patient care.”

“Of course, madam.”