Question

Jack79's avatar

Anybody else got spam from "postmaster@hotmail.com"?

Asked by Jack79 (8394points) | asked 1 month ago | 5 responses | “Great Question” (0points) | Flag as…

This message must be spam. It looks like a typical failure notification message and comes from “postmaster@hotmail.com” but the original message is not something I sent from my hotmail any time recently (ie within the last decade). The content itself is clearly spam and the attachments could easily be viruses.

My actual question is: how can these people have an email account with that name? Aren’t names like “postmaster” already taken or blocked by Microsoft? Are they using some sort of mask on the name, or is it some back door they’ve discovered? Seems pretty malicious.

Also, is there someone I could inform of this? I’ve got my eyes open about such threats, and even I was almost fooled. So it seems pretty tricky.

Observing members: 0 Composing members: 0

Answers

JollyTiger's avatar

Yes, they’re masking the real address. Gmail has much better spam protection. It’s a hassle but I would recommend switching for that reason alone.

XOIIO's avatar

EVERYONE! SEND SPAM MAIL TO THEM!

IchtheosaurusRex's avatar

Don’t believe anything you read in an email header. A 9-year-old can forge one. I agree with @JollyTiger ; use gmail and kick that spam magnet to the curb.

You can forward spams to spam@uce.gov if you’re civic-minded. I think there’s a link to report spam in the hotmail client, but you’re wasting your time.

YARNLADY's avatar

Yes, it is a very common trick.

Yetanotheruser's avatar

It’s astrochuck!

Answer this question

Login

or

Join

to answer.
Your answer will be saved while you login or join.

Have a question about something? Ask Fluther!