General Question

mrentropy's avatar

If you delete your Facebook account, does it erase everything you've done?

Asked by mrentropy (17188points) January 27th, 2011

Kind of self-explanatory. Sort of. But if you delete your Facebook account, does it delete things you’ve done like postings on other people’s walls or does all of that stay in place?

Observing members: 0 Composing members: 0

14 Answers

Staalesen's avatar

I believe so.. MY GF is always complaining that it makes her wall conversations look like she is talking to herself when some of her friends delete their account.

mrentropy's avatar

Ah, good. Thanks @Staalesen.

XOIIO's avatar

Not completely. All of the information is permanently on facebook. It is their property.

mrentropy's avatar

I’m sure it exists somewhere I just needed to know if it still showed up. And @Staalesen and @klutzaroo were right, it does disappear. And if you re-open your account it all comes back.

Odysseus's avatar

No, not at all.
just try logging in with your old username and password after you quit… Its all the same They dont let you quit.
I had to delete every single contact and post ( 3 hours) but even now after I deactivate my account , I can still log in.
Facebook is like the Hotel California ‘you can check out any time you like but you can never leave’

john65pennington's avatar

Facebook is loaded with viruses.

Buttonstc's avatar

And let’s not forget about the Wayback Machine :)

www.archive.org/web/web.php

mrentropy's avatar

@Odysseus Yes, this person was telling me that deleting her account was proving to be difficult. I likened it to The Borg. But she managed it in the end.

takaboom's avatar

no
You are probably have “deactivating” your account in mind as deletion. Facebook won’t delete everything you have done just like that, they want you to stay as much as they possibly can.

When you deactivate your account, you are doing just that: deactivating it, not deleting it. Even after 2 or 3 months, you can probably log back on. A deactivated account doesn’t go anywhere until about three or four months, maybe more

Now if you want to delete it go here:
https://www.facebook.com/help/contact.php?show_form=delete_account

This will take you through the steps of deletion, and before it is delete it, you mustn’t log in in the 14-day period, you know in case you change your mind (which is what facebook wants) then it won’t be deleted

Hope that helps

takaboom's avatar

ALSO: if you are going to delete an account, I would advise taking off all personal info (work, school, interests, etc) and deleting all of your pictures.

mrentropy's avatar

@takaboom A) It’s not me, B) I had “deleting” in mind, not “deactivating”. That’s why I used the word “delete.”

takaboom's avatar

Well I didn’t “MEAN” anything by that. I was just stating it.

klutzaroo's avatar

@john65pennington No, actually it isn’t “loaded with viruses.” There are links that are shared on facebook that if clicked on can give you a virus, but you could just as easily get it from your e-mail or even from here. There’s nothing to actually do with facebook that gives anyone viruses.

Answer this question

Login

or

Join

to answer.

This question is in the General Section. Responses must be helpful and on-topic.

Your answer will be saved while you login or join.

Have a question? Ask Fluther!

What do you know more about?
or
Knowledge Networking @ Fluther