General Question

desiree333's avatar

What order do I read the Silence of the Lambs books in?

Asked by desiree333 (3206points) July 24th, 2011

There is 4: Red Dragon (1981),The Silence of the Lambs (1988), Hannibal (1999), and Hannibal Rising (2006).

Do I read them in the order they were written? I know that makes the most sense, but I know there are some are prequels and stuff.

Observing members: 0 Composing members: 0

6 Answers

King_Pariah's avatar

If you want chronological with the story line, the do please go Hannibal Rising, Red Dragon, The Silence of the Lambs, and finish with Hannibal.

Otherwise stick with the order they were written, or just forget about Hannibal Rising, I didn’t think that was was all that good, seemed like it was written as an afterthought.

marinelife's avatar

I would read Red Dragon adn Silence of the Lambs, and then stop. The other two are not worth reading.

Seelix's avatar

I have to agree that Hannibal Rising really isn’t worth reading. Hannibal isn’t as good as the other two, but I still enjoyed it.

desiree333's avatar

Okay, so I will probably read Red Dragon, The Silence of the Lambs, and then Hannibal. Maybe I’ll give Hannibal Rising a go after to see if I like it.

King_Pariah's avatar

@desiree333 Go for it, but don’t say we didn’t warn you…

desiree333's avatar

@King_Pariah I will enter that storyline with caution, don’t worry. ;P

Answer this question




to answer.

This question is in the General Section. Responses must be helpful and on-topic.

Your answer will be saved while you login or join.

Have a question? Ask Fluther!

What do you know more about?
Knowledge Networking @ Fluther