General Question

bmhit1991's avatar

Narnia after Prince Caspian?

Asked by bmhit1991 (246points) May 3rd, 2008 from iPhone

Which book are they making a movie of next? Is it official yet? They skipped book three (The Horse and His Boy), and they never did book one (The Magician’s Nephew), so I’m not entirely sure what the order they are making these movies is. My guess would be book 5 (The Voyage of the Dawn Treader). Does anybody know the order that they’ll release all the movies? Thanks!

Observing members: 0 Composing members: 0

8 Answers

richmarshall's avatar

Prince Caspian is the second installment in what could be a series of six Narnia films alledgedly benefits from better CGI but is also dogged by rumors that Disney doesn’t know how many more of the films it wants to make.~~~Rocky Mountain News

bmhit1991's avatar

Well I found that Disney has made it official on its site that “The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader” is next. And in a sneak preview, one of the people working on the movie said “The story introduces Prince Caspian…who will be in the next three of these stories.” Why do you say six though? There are seven books.

richmarshall's avatar

I took it straight from the Rocky Mountain News dated 5/2/08.

richmarshall's avatar

You know….cuz if it’s in the paper it must be true. lol

phoenyx's avatar

It depends on if the follow the timeline or when the books were published (e.g. magician’s nephew comes first chronologically, but was published later). If I remember correctly, they are being made by Walden Media and Disney is just the distributor.

shrubbery's avatar

I’m pretty sure they’re making them in the order they were written not the order in which they’ve been placed after they were all finished.

ashii1502's avatar

Hey there the movies are not made according to their books order.
Their first movie was The lion, the witch and the wardrobe which release in 2006.
They are coming up with Prince Caspian on the 16th of May, 2008!!
The next movie in the row is The voyage of the dawn treader sometime in 2010.
The other movie releases are yet to be announced!

phoenyx's avatar

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe – published 1950
Prince Caspian: The Return to Narnia – published 1951
The Voyage of the Dawn Treader – published 1952
The Silver Chair – published 1953
The Horse and His Boy – published 1954
The Magician’s Nephew – published 1955
The Last Battle – published 1956

I owned the set as a kid and they were ordered according to publication date. It is only more recently that they’ve been reordered chronologically.

Answer this question




to answer.

This question is in the General Section. Responses must be helpful and on-topic.

Your answer will be saved while you login or join.

Have a question? Ask Fluther!

What do you know more about?
Knowledge Networking @ Fluther