General Question

skfinkel's avatar

What is non-kosher gelatin made from?

Asked by skfinkel (13506points) July 6th, 2008

I’ve heard horse hooves? Can this be true?

Observing members: 0 Composing members: 0

15 Answers

eambos's avatar

Hooves or something similar. I don’t know if it is urban legend or not, but I’ve heard that they used ground animal bones. That probably leads to the gelatin not being kosher.

gailcalled's avatar

“Made from the collagen inside the connective tissues of animals.” Gelatin

@sk: you may not want to read any further.

Lightlyseared's avatar

Non kosher gelatin will be made of non kosher animals (think pig). Kosher gelatin will be made of kosher animals (probably cow).

Bsilver's avatar

Actually, Kosher Gelatin is more often that not made from fish, not cows or the like

Lightlyseared's avatar

Actually most gelatin is considered non-kosher, however several prominent rabbinic authorities have noted that gelatin undergoes such extensive processing and chemical changes that it no longer has the status of meat, and as such may be considered parve and kosher.

Seesul's avatar

My relatives from the Philippines use a type of seaweed product for gelatin.

Bsilver's avatar

@lightlyseared, have a source for that? Being Jewish and growing up in a strict kosher household, I have never heard that…

Babo's avatar

Babo just gave up jello…

gailcalled's avatar

When folks made their own gefilte fish, with fresh fish, a jelly always formed around it.

For serving 50 people and other hilarious Passover recipes, check out: http://gefiltefishchronicles.com/

kapuerajam's avatar

they scrape thebines into bone dust

Bsilver's avatar

I’m not 100% on the source uses for that, ad there is no citation for the statement, as stated earlier, nearly all gelatin is non-kosher, in the instance that it is needed, K-gelatin is used (abbreviated form of Kosher Gelatin) which is made from
fish byproducts.

The statement used could quite possibly be trying to describe the “1/60th concept” where even though some ingredients might be non-kosher, the overall item COULD be considered kosher, if the ratio of non-kosher to kosher is 1/60th, but that is still a matter of some contention among authorities. Generally the Kosher consumer looks for reliable “Kashruth” symbols on the food they’re purchasing, indicating which rabbinic authority issued the certification that the product is kosher. Some symbols are more reliable than most…

dindinbaby's avatar

I feel the need to clarify. Beef can be kosher, if slaughtered in a kosher manner.

Bsilver's avatar

I don’t recall anyone stating beef was not kosher…

DandyDear711's avatar

After researching gelatin in marshmallows recently, I found the most gelatin at least in marshmallows is from pork. To get kosher marshmallows you have to get them from Israel as they are made there with fish gelatin. I found Israeli marshmallows around Passover time – I have to say they were terrible!

I am now a pescatarian and love marshmallows so hence I researched it…

Answer this question

Login

or

Join

to answer.

This question is in the General Section. Responses must be helpful and on-topic.

Your answer will be saved while you login or join.

Have a question? Ask Fluther!

What do you know more about?
or
Knowledge Networking @ Fluther