General Question

basstrom188's avatar

Is such a thing as a "no ball" in baseball?

Asked by basstrom188 (3595points) August 9th, 2016

In cricket a no ball is a penalty against the fielding team, usually as a result of an illegal delivery by the bowler. The batsman is allowed to score off a no ball but cannot be given out. An extra point (run) is added to the batting side’s score.

Observing members: 0 Composing members: 0

7 Answers

Seek's avatar

There is a similar rule: called a “Balk”

This happens when a pitcher stops delivery to home plate in order, say, to throw out an advancing runner (or even if he just made a mistake and didn’t complete the pitch). As a penalty all base runners advance one base – which means if a runner is on third the batting side scores.

This answer brought to you by Mr. Seek

ucme's avatar

A no ball in cricket, along with byes – leg byes – wides is collectively known as “extras”…runs added onto the batting side. Cricket, very complicated!

CWOTUS's avatar

There is another type of “illegal delivery” by the baseball pitcher which results in the batter being struck by the pitched ball. In that case, the batter is awarded first base and existing runners advance if they are forced to. In that case it can also result in a run for the team at bat, if the bases were full when the batter was hit.

Call_Me_Jay's avatar

A third possibility is a walk. The pitcher has to throw at the strike zone so the batter has fair chance of hitting it.

After four balls (throws outside the strike zone) the batter walks. Anyone else on base advances as described above by @Seek and @CWOTUS.

Sometime the pitcher will deliberately walk a strong batter who might otherwise get farther than first base.

zenvelo's avatar

Another “no ball” may result in the batter being out.

Last Friday, Joc Pederson of the Dodgers “let” a pitch by the Red Sox’ Steven Wright hit him in the leg, but since he did not try to evade the ball, and actually stepped into it, he was ruled out.

CWOTUS's avatar

There’s a crucial distinction between the balk that @Seek mentioned, though, and the base on balls or hit batter that you and I are referencing, @Call_Me_Jay. That is, with a balk, it doesn’t matter who else is on base, what bases are occupied or – crucially – whether first base is occupied or not. When a balk is called, all of the baserunners advance from their current base to their next one regardless of the occupation of any other bases.

With a walk or a hit batter, advancement of the baserunners only occurs if first base – and every base between first base and the current baserunner – is occupied. That is, a walk or a hit batter forces the baserunners along, but only because two baserunners cannot occupy the same base. But a balk doesn’t depend on which bases are occupied at the time.

LostInParadise's avatar

One of the more obscure baseball rules is that a batter may be able to go to first base if the third strike pitch is not caught by the catcher. See here for details.

Answer this question

Login

or

Join

to answer.

This question is in the General Section. Responses must be helpful and on-topic.

Your answer will be saved while you login or join.

Have a question? Ask Fluther!

What do you know more about?
or
Knowledge Networking @ Fluther