General Question

queenzboulevard's avatar

When using "Fast User Switching," does everything still run when I'm on the other account?

Asked by queenzboulevard (2549points) December 21st, 2008

I’m converting some videos and I have a few downloads going, and I have Fast User Switching enabled. Will my conversions stop if I switch to the other account?

Observing members: 0 Composing members: 0

3 Answers

jrpowell's avatar

Everything will continue to run in the background. (I just tested it.)

simpleD's avatar

If you use a processor/RAM intensive app under another account, the account running the video conversion may slow down considerably. If the data stream is interrupted, errors could occur.

BTW, some apps, like Adium, are Switching aware. You can have it set your status to Away or Offline when switched.

dynamicduo's avatar

Things should stay running fine, but your video convertion might encounter errors if the second person uses a program which takes lots of memory, or is forced to reboot or crashes.

Answer this question

Login

or

Join

to answer.

This question is in the General Section. Responses must be helpful and on-topic.

Your answer will be saved while you login or join.

Have a question? Ask Fluther!

What do you know more about?
or
Knowledge Networking @ Fluther