General Question

kelly's avatar

In American Football, if you do not insert your mouth guard is it a foul/penalty?

Asked by kelly (1908points) January 15th, 2008

During the BCS championship game, the LSU quarterback seemed to keep his mouthguard stuck in his facemask.

Observing members: 0 Composing members: 0

4 Answers

Poser's avatar

I remember the refs would make us put it in in High School, but I can’t remember if it was a penalty. I don’t think anyone really cares in College or the NFL.

gooch's avatar

no its not a penalty

GD_Kimble's avatar

in most states high school players are required to wear mouth guards . NCAA and NFL dont have a rule requiring them.

lacrosseplr's avatar

Yes it is a penalty. It is even a penalty if you are wearing it wrong, like only having half of it in your mouth. 5 yard penalty in College and High School.

Answer this question

Login

or

Join

to answer.

This question is in the General Section. Responses must be helpful and on-topic.

Your answer will be saved while you login or join.

Have a question? Ask Fluther!

What do you know more about?
or
Knowledge Networking @ Fluther