Meta Question

Seek's avatar

When a user's account is deleted, do their PMs disappear with them?

Asked by Seek (34724points) October 6th, 2010

I received a PM from a newly registered user, and when I went back to re-read it, it was gone. The user’s profile is gone too.

I just thought it was strange that a PM would randomly vanish without having deleted it myself.

Observing members: 0 Composing members: 0

9 Answers

Dog's avatar

Yes. When an account is deactivated all PM messages vanish. Not sure why.

If you have a valid email and adjusted settings to allow notification of PM messages you should have gotten a copy via email.

Seek's avatar

I don’t, but it’s no big deal. I didn’t really care about the PM itself, just wondering whether it was a side effect of deactivation, or if someone was physically deleting my messages for me. The former – cool. The latter – not so much.

Thanks for the answer, @Dog – you’re awesome. ^_^

JilltheTooth's avatar

I’ve noticed that I still have PMs from users that voluntary deleted their own accounts, but not from from ones whom (I suspect) have been banned. Just a strong suspicion, that, but I think probably so, considering some circumstances.

Jabe73's avatar

I could have easily answered this myself. I had 3 former users in my fluther, their avatars vanished from my fluther (they deleted their accounts) but I still noticed I have their messages.

BoBo1946's avatar

@Dog this would be another question, but since you are here, will we ever be able to invite friends to a question in a simpler way? Not the mundane process of inviting one at a time!

augustlan's avatar

@BoBo1946 I don’t know the answer to that one yet.

BoBo1946's avatar

@augustlan got’cha and thank you!

Allie's avatar

While we’re on the topic, I think “disappear” might be the wrong word to use. If the user were to come back, wouldn’t you see the PMs again? So I think they haven’t disappeared, they just aren’t visible from users who’ve been banned until the ban expires (if it ever does), right? Or have I gotten this all wrong?

augustlan's avatar

@Allie I think that’s right. So, if we just suspend someone, once their account is reactivated, the PMs would be visible again. If they’re truly banned, they’d be gone forever.

Answer this question

Login

or

Join

to answer.
Your answer will be saved while you login or join.

Have a question? Ask Fluther!

What do you know more about?
or
Knowledge Networking @ Fluther