General Question

AshlynM's avatar

Why do files I've deleted and emptied from the recycle bin keep coming back?

Asked by AshlynM (6767 points ) December 7th, 2011

My recycle bin empties automatically so I don’t have to manually delete the files.

But every time I re boot my laptop, the files mysteriously reappear again to the location they were originally kept.

Has anyone else experienced this or am I going crazy here? Can someone please help me fix this issue so that the file is deleted for good? It’s like a song you can’t get out of your head or that trick candle you can’t blow out.

I do run virus scan software once a week and just recently did a system restore, so I’m sure it’s not a virus causing this problem. Even after the restore, the file is still there on my computer.

Observing members: 0 Composing members: 0

8 Answers

RealEyesRealizeRealLies's avatar

It used to be on Mac, that one could put items in the trash, empty trash, and restart, and find the deleted items reappear upon restart. This was a last safety measure for those who made a simple mistake.

But finding them in their original places is odd. I’d recommend zapping your P-Ram… and if that doesn’t work, it’s time for some maintenance, starting with rebuilding file directories and purging adware from your browsers.

RealEyesRealizeRealLies's avatar

<———-That guy is not responsible for lost files on your system.

AshlynM's avatar

It’s a folder I personally created but now want removed permanently. I don’t think it’s a shared folder or used by another person. I don’t receive any error messages about the folder in question. I just can’t seem to get rid of it.

RealEyesRealizeRealLies's avatar

Perhaps it was created by a different user account and is locked by them to prevent deleting. You’d need to sign in under the account it was made under, then delete it.

2davidc8's avatar

Are you using software/services that sync your files across multiple devices via the “cloud”, such as SugarSync, Dropbox, etc.?

Response moderated (Spam)
AshlynM's avatar

I have Dropbox installed on my laptop but I never put the file in there. The thing is, I don’t have any problems with any other folder I’ve deleted, just this particular one.

2davidc8's avatar

But Dropbox can sync not just your Dropbox folder, but other folders and files that you designate for uploading/syncing. See in your preferences or settings whether that folder is marked for syncing.

Answer this question

Login

or

Join

to answer.

This question is in the General Section. Responses must be helpful and on-topic.

Your answer will be saved while you login or join.

Have a question? Ask Fluther!

What do you know more about?
or
Knowledge Networking @ Fluther