General Question

Sunsetseast's avatar

If I got pulled over and ticketed for driving with an expired license, how much will the fine be?

Asked by Sunsetseast (85 points ) May 14th, 2010 from iPhone

I’m asking approximately.. Or for individual experiences

Observing members: 0 Composing members: 0

13 Answers

perspicacious's avatar

It depends on the jurisdiction in which you were stopped.

Sunsetseast's avatar

Ok….ball park figure for mid hollywood, Los Angeles, CA

ParaParaYukiko's avatar

“California vehicle code 12500 makes it illegal, and a misdemeanor, to drive without a valid license on any highway in California. A person cited for driving without a valid license in CA may be punished by probation, time in county jail, and fines of up to $1000 plus surcharges.”

Source

After reading this, I definitely don’t suggest driving with an expired license!

Randy's avatar

In Arkansas, it’s about $460. That’s coming from personal experience.

Edit: Plus a $100 tow fee.

Ponderer983's avatar

Go online and find out. it usually says how to do this on the back of the ticket.

Sunsetseast's avatar

Yeah I read that too but that’s the maximum. I’m hearing they don’t usually fine that unless you have an awful driving/ criminal record. Thanks Randy

Sunsetseast's avatar

Randy, did u have to go to court? And how long did they give you to pay it?

AmWiser's avatar

The fine is pretty hefty in Michigan, but I don’t this think its as high as Arkansas.

Randy's avatar

@Sunsetseast yes, I had to go to court. My court date was about one month from the time I got the ticket and I had to option to pay it all then or to pay it out in three payments starting a month later than the court date. The amount for the fine was including the court cost.

MissA's avatar

Do you have an expired license and are you considering driving with it? Is the potential fine a deterrent?

john65pennington's avatar

In my jurisdiction, a traffic violation has to be observed by the officer, before a traffic stop can be made. how did the officer know your dl was expired?

What are the circumstances of your expired driver license? why are they expired?

jazmina88's avatar

plus they would have to stop you for something else…..and you would get an additional fine, most likely.

myopicvisionary's avatar

California Vehicle Code Division 6 – Driver’s Licenses
Chapter 4. Violation of License Provision http://www.dmv.ca.gov/pubs/vctop/vc/tocd6c4.htm
All the information you need is here.

Answer this question

Login

or

Join

to answer.

This question is in the General Section. Responses must be helpful and on-topic.

Your answer will be saved while you login or join.

Have a question? Ask Fluther!

What do you know more about?
or
Knowledge Networking @ Fluther