General Question

2davidc8's avatar

Does soy or soy products (such as tofu) contain gluten? Does soybean oil contain gluten?

Asked by 2davidc8 (4173 points ) March 22nd, 2012

Gluten is supposed to come from cereal grains, which I think soybeans are not. But just wondering…

Observing members: 0 Composing members: 0

6 Answers

gailcalled's avatar

A soybean is exactly that…a green bean. You can shell them from the pod and eat them raw as a delicious snack.

“The soybean plant is an annual plant native to Southeast Asia. It has oblong pods that contain 2 to 4 seeds or beans. Soybeans are legumes, a member of the pea family, and are a source of high-quality protein. They are processed to make many foods and food additives.” Source.

Gluten is a protein composite found in foods processed from wheat and related grain species, including barley and rye. It gives elasticity to dough, helping it to rise and to keep its shape, and often giving the final product a chewy texture.

(You can do the research on how a soy bean becomes a block of tofu.)

Adirondackwannabe's avatar

Soybeans are legumes. They not related to wheat.

marinelife's avatar

“Soybeans are a high-protein, high-fat, gluten-free legume that can be eaten whole or made into a variety of food products.”

Source

Sunny2's avatar

HOWEVER, soy sauce has wheat flour in it, so it is NOT gluten free. Check ingredients labels to be sure.

downtide's avatar

Agree with @Sunny2; soy sauce has wheat flour added. When buying tofu, check that it is just plain and not coated; the coating might have flour in it too.

Response moderated (Spam)

Answer this question

Login

or

Join

to answer.

This question is in the General Section. Responses must be helpful and on-topic.

Your answer will be saved while you login or join.

Have a question? Ask Fluther!

What do you know more about?
or
Knowledge Networking @ Fluther