Social Question

Wine's avatar

Can/How do you delete a location attached to an already sent facebook message?

Asked by Wine (542 points ) January 21st, 2013

I usually have this phone setting off but I forgot to have it off before sending facebook messages to some people who I’d rather not have knowing where I live. Is there any way to fix this?

Observing members: 0 Composing members: 0

5 Answers

livelaughlove21's avatar

Nope. What’s done is done.

Patton's avatar

Maybe. Some Facebook posts are dynamic, which means that they pull data afresh each time someone accesses them. This means that blocking the app that tells your location might remove that data from old posts. It’s a long shot, though, and you’d have to be okay not using the app anymore. Why not just try deleting the message itself and resending it?

Wine's avatar

@Patton Because from my understanding, even if I delete the message from my inbox, the recipient still has it in their message. Is this true?

Wine's avatar

Would it work if I report the message and block the person?

Patton's avatar

@Wine No, I don’t think that’s true. I think the message is shared data. You and the recipient see the same thing, so deleting it makes it unavailable to both of you. Reporting and blocking should also work, though.

Answer this question

Login

or

Join

to answer.
Your answer will be saved while you login or join.

Have a question? Ask Fluther!

What do you know more about?
or
Knowledge Networking @ Fluther