General Question

ragingloli's avatar

Does anyone know the solution to this minesweeper problem?

Asked by ragingloli (46917points) 1 month ago

I seem to be stuck.
https://imgur.com/a/zwfk8X9

Observing members: 0 Composing members: 0

12 Answers

Soubresaut's avatar

I’ve always thought that situation requires a guess (I don’t see a way to figure out which of the 2 covered squares has the last mine), so if someone knows differently I’d be interested to hear, too.

LostInParadise's avatar

The bottom square has a mine and the one above it has number 1.

Soubresaut's avatar

@LostInParadise, how do you know? Wouldn’t it look the same if the top square had the mine?

filmfann's avatar

It’s a crap shoot.

Zaku's avatar

@Soubresaut is correct. There is no way to know. Other than accepting a 50% chance of hitting a mine. Or sailing away. ;-)

LostInParadise's avatar

There is a 3 in the square to the left of the bottom square. You need to place a mine in the bottom square for the square with the 3 to be surrounded by 3 mines. There is also a square with a 4 to the right and two squares at the top corners with 1’s, all of which need an additional mine.

Zaku's avatar

@LostInParadise No. Diagonals count, so:
* The 3 on the left could be referring to the two known adjacent mines plus one in either clear space.
* The 4 to the right already has 3 adjacent known mines below it, and the 4th could be in either clear space.
* The two squares at the top with 1’s have no adjacent known mines, and are adjacent to both clear spaces, so again, there’s a mine in one of those clear spaces, but it could equally be in either one, by all available clues.

LostInParadise's avatar

Each square has 8 neighbors according to the rules. How do you get 8 squares if you do not include the diagonals? For the current game, there is a box with a 6 in it. You can only get 6 if you include the corner squares.

LostInParadise's avatar

You can also put a mine in the top box and a 4 in the box below it.

Zaku's avatar

@LostInParadise “How do you get 8 squares if you do not include the diagonals?”
– You don’t. You do include the diagonals.

There is a period between where I wrote “No.” and where I wrote “Diagonals do count”. So yes, I agree most squares have 8 neighbors (except the ones at the map edges).

“You can also put a mine in the top box and a 4 in the box below it.”
– You can, with a 50% chance you’ll be correct.

LostInParadise's avatar

@Zaku , Sorry for the misread.

Zaku's avatar

No worries. Just trying to be clear.

Answer this question

Login

or

Join

to answer.

This question is in the General Section. Responses must be helpful and on-topic.

Your answer will be saved while you login or join.

Have a question? Ask Fluther!

What do you know more about?
or
Knowledge Networking @ Fluther