General Question

Pied_Pfeffer's avatar

What classification do these areas fall under?

Asked by Pied_Pfeffer (27876points) September 17th, 2020

England, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland, and The Republic of Ireland: Which are countries? If not a country, what other category do they fall under?

Observing members: 0 Composing members: 0

7 Answers

ragingloli's avatar

They are all countries, yes.

dxs's avatar

“Country” may have multiple meanings here.

England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland make up the country of the United Kingdom, and The Republic of Ireland is another country.

But then England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland are called countries of the UK.

The link has some explanation of the politics.

Pied_Pfeffer's avatar

@dxs. Thank you. The UK and Ireland are usually listed as two countries that encompass all five, thus the confusion.

Hawaii_Jake's avatar

They also make up the British Isles.

Response moderated (Unhelpful)
Response moderated (Writing Standards)
LogicHead's avatar

The British Commonwealth for some of them

Answer this question




to answer.

This question is in the General Section. Responses must be helpful and on-topic.

Your answer will be saved while you login or join.

Have a question? Ask Fluther!

What do you know more about?
Knowledge Networking @ Fluther