General Question

buckyboy28's avatar

When I delete an e-mail in Thunderbird, multiple copies of the deleted e-mail show up in my trash can. Why?

Asked by buckyboy28 (4938points) September 12th, 2010

It only does it in my AOL mailbox, my .edu mailbox doesn’t do this.

Observing members: 0 Composing members: 0

4 Answers

anartist's avatar

Are they all Thunderbird? Or do you have multiple browser clients that are deleting the same email?

buckyboy28's avatar

I am only using Thunderbird to delete the emails. Is it possible that AOL is deleting a copy as well?

Skyrail's avatar

Just a stab in the dark guess, but how do you connect to your e-mail server? Is it via IMAP? Because when you delete an e-mail the e-mail server may delete it and put it in the deleted e-mails folder and at the same time Thunderbird may delete it and put it in there as well (that’s where it may move it to for example). I know this sort of thing is possible in Outlook with the sent e-mails (Outlook stores the sent e-mails somewhere, as does the GMail server automatically). Just a guess :)

buckyboy28's avatar

@Skyrail It is IMAP, so that’s likely what is happening. I guess I can just over look it; I’d much rather have 2 copies in my trash than none at all.

Thanks.

Answer this question

Login

or

Join

to answer.

This question is in the General Section. Responses must be helpful and on-topic.

Your answer will be saved while you login or join.

Have a question? Ask Fluther!

What do you know more about?
or
Knowledge Networking @ Fluther