Do vegetarians get screwed at Subway?
I’m a vegetarian, and it’s always annoyed me that the only vegetarian option at Subway is essentially a “Nothing Sub”—for which I pay the same price as everyone else. So, for example, a person ordering a ham sub gets ham plus various vegetable toppings. When I order a vegetarian sub, I am getting a ham sub, without the ham, and paying the same price as the person ordering the ham sub.
I recall once that Subway had a special on their turkey subs, which were more than a dollar cheaper than their “vegetarian” sub. So I asked them to make me a turkey sub, hold the turkey. I was told they couldn’t do that, because then it would be a vegetarian sub and they’d have to charge me more. I argued with them about it for a while, then asked if I could get the turkey on the side. They said they could, and I simply threw the turkey in the trash.
Do you think Subway’s policies are fair?