General Question

Ltryptophan's avatar

What permissions have I given when using certain applications?

Asked by Ltryptophan (10724points) July 16th, 2016 from iPhone

I just logged on to facebook, and they let me know they took some of the pictures I snapped recently and made a nice slideshow with them.

These are not pictures I uploaded to facebook. They seemingly went into my photo folder on my phone and selected the latest ones. This was done as a service to me.

Now, I am wondering who can see what of my private pictures.

I know there is safety in numbers and I am not special enough for anyone to be bothered, I guess. But, have I given a facebook employee the right to browse my pics? (i know the collage was put together by a program).

Observing members: 0 Composing members: 0

5 Answers

imrainmaker's avatar

Pics that can be seen by whom depends on your privacy settings on facebook. You can choose only you / friends / friend of friends or public. Not remembering what’s the default one.. should be friends only i guess.

CWOTUS's avatar

I’m guessing that you made a setup choice somewhere, to send photos from the phone or camera direct to Facebook. (When I take photos they get backed up to Dropbox. I don’t have a lot of faith in Facebook’s privacy settings.)

To my knowledge, nothing on my phone goes to FB unless I post it manually.

What about Instagram? Do you have that app on your phone? That could also be a conduit, I think (though I wouldn’t know for certain, as I don’t use it, but I see a lot of my friends’ photos get to FB that way.)

Ltryptophan's avatar

I probably didn’t explain this well enough. Fb has only basic iOS permission to access my photo library. In my mind I intend that permission to mean when I go to upload a picture they will be allowed to open the folder through the app.

Think of it this way: Have you ever granted your email provider a special permission regarding your photo library in order to upload a picture attachment to an email? No!

So, what is this permission allowing precisely? The right to peruse my photo library?

dappled_leaves's avatar

From a quick Google search, it sounds like you have Photo Synching switched on in Facebook. I agree that such a feature should not be the default (if, in fact, it was for you). Here are the instructions from Facebook Help Centre for changing that setting:

Open the Facebook app and tap
Scroll down and select Account > App Settings > Sync Photos
Choose Don’t sync my photos

From your iPhone:

Open the Facebook app and go to your profile
Tap Photos > Synced
Tap the gear icon in the top right
Tap to turn Photo Syncing off

Answer this question

Login

or

Join

to answer.

This question is in the General Section. Responses must be helpful and on-topic.

Your answer will be saved while you login or join.

Have a question? Ask Fluther!

What do you know more about?
or
Knowledge Networking @ Fluther