General Question

julia999's avatar

How many deep cervical fascia are there?

Asked by julia999 (343points) March 12th, 2012


A lecturer mentioned that there are “4 deep cervical fascia” today, and I am trying to understand what he meant.

This site seems to think there’s a lot more than four:

Could someone please shed some light on this?

Thanks in advance!

Observing members: 0 Composing members: 0

5 Answers

tranquilsea's avatar

Can you go back to the lecturer and ask him/her?

annewilliams5's avatar

I may be wrong but I think there are 6 :
Investing layer
Pre-Tracheal fascia
Pre-Vertebral fascia
Carotid sheath
Buccopharyngeal fascia
Pharyngobasilar fascia

I hope I’m spelling these right.

Lightlyseared's avatar

Depends how you classify it I suppose. The four layer classification goes…
Investing layer
Middle layer
Visceral layer
Vertebral layer

annewilliams5's avatar

@Lightlyseared I went a little too detailed…maybe?

julia999's avatar

The lecturer didn’t seem to know how many there are either. I think he meant that there are at least 4, because there are definitely more!

Thanks for the help everyone :)

Answer this question




to answer.

This question is in the General Section. Responses must be helpful and on-topic.

Your answer will be saved while you login or join.

Have a question? Ask Fluther!

What do you know more about?
Knowledge Networking @ Fluther